Hidden Motives

Image

Often times the reasons for our actions and the actions of others are unclear. We may have hidden motives and drives to do certain things. It is often these hidden motives that defines who we are; it is those motives that makes it sometimes difficult for socialization and making friends. If we were to not have hidden motives, it would be significantly easier for us to determine who the real friends are.

Life is full of obstacles and one of the things you have to learn in life is the ability to determine which one of your friends is the real friend. Many people in this world put their own needs and interests above everything else and would stop at nothing to achieve their needs and interests. This reminds me of something that happened to me in a game I played when I was in 5th grade. I had met this guy in a game and he seemed to be a honest guy that was fun to be around. Little did I know at the time that he was weaving a web of lies to get my account on the game. Before I knew it, I was caught in the web. When I tried logging in, repeated “Incorrect password, please try again” flashed in my face, everything finally clicked together. Within a time span of a month after meeting the person I had lost everything I had worked for in the game because I trusted somebody. I had failed to read his hidden motives. Looking back, I see signs that I had failed to catch on back then.

Image

Having my account stolen taught me that trust is something that shouldn’t just be given away, and that trust should rarely be ever be bestowed onto a stranger that I met online. If I had read his hidden motives earlier, this would have never occurred; socializing with others is all about the dig for the hidden motives. Similarly to life in the physical world, literature also has motives, except in this case they are labeled as themes.

Leave a Reply

