Two Thousand and Fifteen

16163524835_f94436c68b_o

Photo ©2015 by Peter Thoeny (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

Two thousand and fifteen, we are 5 years away from the year 2020 and 15 years past the millennial; its still hard to believe that Obama has been president for 7 years already, that it has been 14 years since 9/11.  So far this year has been quite a roller coaster ride for me, I have had experiences I would have never think I would ever have, seen the sides of people I never thought I would be forced to see, and had to make choices I would never even consider that I would be forced to make. Two thousand and fifteen has been one hell of a year.

With the new year came finals, and along with finals came a massive amount of stress. All my grades at that point were borderline just one or two percents from dropping to a B or moving up to an A, I realized that I had to work extremely hard to secure all the A’s I could. Unfortunately, I failed quite miserably. When I received my report card I saw that I had received 3 A’s and 3 B’s, I wasn’t quite happy with my grades. The most upsetting part was that I knew I could have gotten 2 more A’s if I had tried harder and put a little more effort a few months earlier, instead I lived in the moment and although I had the greatest experiences in my life so far, I regret not putting the effort in earlier. The disappointment I felt in myself was overwhelming and crushing; I was so close to making it across the finish line but because  I slacked off a bit early in the race I had failed to. My first semester junior year grades were a complete disappointment.

Within the past month I have also drifted away from, at one point, two of my closest friends.  These two friends were the ones I confided everything into; we were extremely close knit, seemingly inseparable, oh man I was completely wrong. Many people will say that it is morally wrong to date your best friend’s former girlfriend or crush, that it is a violation of “bro code”, it is safe to say that I feel sort of the same way. I believe that if you like your best friend’s former girlfriend, one that your best friend still has feelings for, you should respect that best friend and give it some space before pursuing the person you like. Unfortunately, my best friend didn’t act the way I thought he would and pursued her even though I was uncomfortable with it; since then, things have gotten progressively worse to the point where we don’t even talk anymore. We used be always together, as close as friends could ever be. That all ended within the first month of the year two thousand and fifteen.

This year, so far, hasn’t been all that great; my academic life suffered as my grades were fairly sub par while my social life took a massive hit as I lost some of my closest friends and lost the people I could hang out with and be comfortably around. The only comforting fact now is that life can’t be a series of downs or a series of ups, there will always be low points in our lives and high points in our lives. Knowing that I am looking forward to the point in my life when the high point in my life begins because so far this year it has been a series of lower and lower points.

One comment on “Two Thousand and Fifteen

  1. This is brilliant, be sure to check out my page

Leave a Reply

